The new faces of the Caribbean Electric Utility Services Board

CARILEC governing board

CARILEC’s new chairman Collin Cover (seated third from right) with the rest of the new CARILEC Governing Board.


GRAND CAYMAN, Cayman Islands, Friday May 27, 2016 – The Caribbean Electric Utility Services Corporation (CARILEC), the association of electric utilities, suppliers, manufactures and other stakeholders operating in the electricity industry in the region, has a new chairman and other directors.

Grenada Electricity Services Ltd (GRENLEC) Chief Executive Officer, Collin Cover to serve as Chairman of the CARILEC Board for the 2016-2018 term, at CARILEC’s recent 28th Annual General Meeting in Grand Cayman.

Cover is an accomplished energy professional with over 35 years’ industry experience. He also served as Vice Chairman of the CARILEC board from 2015-2016.

During the meeting, directors whose term had expired were elected to renew their positions, and two additional directors – Bertilia Le Blanc- McKenzie, General Manager of Dominica Electricity Services Ltd (DOMLEC) and Franklin Hoevertsz, Managing Director of Utilities Aruba – were elected to serve on the board.

At the previously held Associate Member Caucus, Gianni Moreno was appointed Associate Member representative on the CARILEC Board, and Edmund Phillip as Alternate Associate Member Representative.

CARILEC Board of Directors:

Collin Cover, Grenada Electricity Services Ltd. – Chairman

Jeffrey Locke, Belize Electricity Ltd. – Vice Chairman

Peter Williams, Barbados Light and Power Company Ltd.

Trevor Louisy, St. Lucia Electricity Services Ltd.

Thornley Myers, St. Vincent Electricity Services, Ltd.

Walter Higgins, Bermuda Electric Light Co.

Eddinton Powell, Fortis TCI Ltd. (Turks & Caicos)

Leroy Abraham, BVI Electricity Corp.

Kevin Basden, Bahamas Electricity Corp.

Cartwright Farrell, St. Kitts Electricity Co., Ltd.

Kelly Tomlin, Jamaica Public Services Ltd.

Bertilia Le Blanc-McKenzie, Dominica Electricity Services Ltd.

Courtenay Mark, Trinidad & Tobago Electricity Commission

Thomas Hodge – CARILEC Executive Director

Gianni Moreno, ABB Power Products and Power Systems

Edmund Philips, Wartsila

Click here to receive news via email from Caribbean360. (View sample)