Rihanna leads iHeartRadio award nominations

Barbados’ superstar heads the pack with seven nods, followed by Justin Timberlake with five, and Imagine Dragons with four.

Barbados’ superstar heads the pack with seven nods, followed by Justin Timberlake with five, and Imagine Dragons with four.

CALIFORNIA, United States, Wednesday April 2, 2014 – There’s just no stopping Barbados’ superstar Rihanna, who has bagged top spot in the nominations for the inaugural iHeartRadio Music Awards.

The Diamonds girl is way out in front with seven nods across five categories, including artist of the year, song of the year and best collaboration. Ironically, she competes against herself in the latter two, with her Mikky Ekko-featured ballad “Stay” going up against “The Monster,” her duet with Eminem.

Justin Timberlake trails Rihanna with five nominations, including artist of the year. Like Rihanna he is nominated twice, thus competing against himself, in the collaboration category for two singles with Jay Z (“Suit & Tie” and Jay Z’s “Holy Grail”).

Imagine Dragons copped four nods and will compete for best new artist against stiff competition from Lorde, Florida Georgia Line, Icona Pop, and Passenger.

Despite a breakout year that yielded them a bounty of Grammys, the Seattle hip-hop duo of  Macklemore & Ryan Lewis are up for only two honours.

Other categories include honours for top songs by genre (country, hip-hop/R&B, EDM, alternative rock), best lyrics, and best fan army, a category that surprisingly doesn’t feature Justin Bieber or One Direction’s fervent fans.

Clear Channel Media and Entertainment has teamed with NBC for the three-hour, fan-voted show, which will be staged at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles on May 1.

Nominations were based on results from the newly minted iHeartRadio Chart, which pulled listener feedback and performance data, digital streaming data from the iHeartRadio platform (including custom station creations) and tags from Shazam and BigChampagne. The data were compiled by Mediabase from the last 12 months.

The nominations follow:

Artist of the year:

Imagine Dragons
Justin Timberlake
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Maroon 5

Song of the year:
“Hold On We’re Going Home” — Drake ft. Majid Jordan
“Mirrors” — Justin Timberlake
“Radioactive” — Imagine Dragons
“Stay” — Rihanna ft. Mikky Ekko
“The Monster” — Eminem ft. Rihanna

“Holy Grail” — Jay Z ft. Justin Timberlake
“Stay” — Rihanna ft. Mikky Ekko
“Suit & Tie” — Justin Timberlake ft. Jay Z
“The Monster” — Eminem ft. Rihanna
“Timber” — Pitbull ft. Kesha

New artist:
Florida Georgia Line
Icona Pop
Imagine Dragons
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Country song of the year:
“Boys ‘Round Here” — Blake Shelton
“Highway Don’t Care” — Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift
“It Goes Like This” — Thomas Rhett
“Mine Would Be You” — Blake Shelton
“That’s My Kind of Night” — Luke Bryan

Hip-hop/R&B song of the year:
“Blurred Lines” — Robin Thicke ft. T.I. & Pharrell
“Hold on We’re Going Home” — Drake ft. Majid Jordan
“Holy Grail” — Jay Z ft. Justin Timberlake
“Pour It Up” — Rihanna
“Started From The Bottom” — Drake

EDM song of the year:
“Get Lucky” — Daft Punk ft. Pharrell
“Stay the Night” — Zedd ft. Hayley Williams
“Summertime Sadness” — Lana Del Rey ft. Cedric Gervais
“Sweet Nothing” — Calvin Harris ft. Florence Welch
“Wake Me Up” — Avicii

Alternative rock song of the year:
“Demons” — Imagine Dragons
“Do I Wanna Know?” — Arctic Monkeys
“Pompeii” — Bastille
“Royals” — Lorde
“Safe and Sound” — Capital Cities

“Wake Me Up” — Avicii (Vocals by Aloe Blacc)
“I Love It (ft. Charli XCX)” — Icona Pop
“Say Something” — A Great Big World
“Same Love” — Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
“Wrecking Ball” — Miley Cyrus

Fan army:
Arianators — Ariana Grande
Little Monsters — Lady Gaga
Lovatics — Demi Lovato
Mahomies — Austin Mahone
Rihanna Navy — Rihanna
Swifties — Taylor Swift

Click here to receive free news bulletins via email from Caribbean360. (View sample)