Guyana’s Jagdeo Wins Party’s Confidence

Hardbeatnews, GEORGETOWN, Guyana, Mon. Aug. 1, 2005: Guyana’s President and member of the Central Executive Committee of the ruling People’s Progressive Party, Bharrat Jagdeo, yesterday again ruled his party’s leadership election with a whopping 650 votes, some 29 ahead of Janet Jagan, the former president and widow of the late Cheddi Jagan.

Jagdeo emerged on top, on the final day of the 28th Congress of the PPP, held at the Cotton Field Secondary School on the Essequibo Coast under the theme, “Strengthen National Unity, Expand Democracy and Social Progress.”

The votes came a day after the President charged “every member of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), as well as Guyanese … to be proud of the achievements of the party in its short existence, particularly since the return to Office in 1992 after free and fair elections.”

Jagdeo said the party had struggled to restore dignity and hope to Guyanese after 28 years of dictatorship under the People’s National Congress (PNC) regime.
“You the Comrades need to be proud of this achievement. Today we have democracy in our land. We have freedom of speech in the Assembly. We have an independent judiciary to protect you from the excesses of the judiciary. We have less people living in poverty, more people are working. We have better social conditions, and yes, we have more smiles on the faces of our people because we have restored hope for a bright future,” he said.

He also urged, “Do not allow anyone to distort history. You have a Party that you can be proud of…We are a national Party. In fact, the only national party in Guyana…Only a national Party can lead this country to progress and prosperity. Your Party has moved Guyana from a state of bankruptcy to one of economic viability. We have removed a burden from the backs of the Guyanese children. You have reason to be proud.”

Also addressing the Congress were Mrs. Janet Jagan, former President and widow of the founder of the PPP who also noted that the PPP fought tirelessly against the former dictatorship and this struggle must be held dearly, lest it be lost.

Meanwhile, other top ten party winners at yesterday’s polls included Navin Chandrapaul with 594 votes, Donald Ramotar – 563, Gail Texerira with 544, Roger Luncheon – 542, Clinton Collymore – 510 and Indra Chandrapaul with 500.

Noticeably absent from the ballot was party veteran, Moses Nagamootoo, who fell out with the PPP’s leadership and has since claimed he will sever all ties with the party. –