Veteran Trinidad calypsonians out of this year’s Calypso Monarch finals


Winston Bailey, the “Mighty Shadow” (Credit:

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad, Monday February 9, 2015, CMC – For the first time in a long time, there will be no veteran calypsonian, who has won the Calypso Monarch competition, appearing at this year’s grand final this weekend.

The Trinidad and Tobago Unified Calypso Organization (TUCO) has named 11 calypsonians for the finals on Sunday, February 15, following the semi-finals held at Skinner Park last Saturday.

Two former monarchs, Winston Bailey, the “Mighty Shadow” and Michael “Sugar Aloes” Osouna, who were among the 41 contestants, did not make it to the finals. But, Winston Scarborough “The Original De Fosto Himself”, from the old brigade made it to the finals with his tune “Games”.

Crowd favourite Devon Seales, whose tune “My Humble Plea” calls on Prime Minister Persad Bissessar and her government to leave office and call fresh general elections, is among the 11 singers that include former monarch Karen Asche, with her tune “Every knee shall bow”.

Another former monarch, Duane O’Connor, is in the finals with his tune “Citizen’s Pride” while the others singers seeking the crown are Joanne Rowley “Tigress” with her tune, “What you Willing to Die for ,” Myron Bruce “The Incredible Myron B”, Victoria Cooper “Venting,” Heather Mac Intosh “Ah Gone,” Selvon Noel “Target” Brian London,” Wishful” and Neville Brown “Multi Crisis”.

They will challenge the reigning monarch Roderick “Chucky” Gordon.

Click here to receive free news bulletins via email from Caribbean360. (View sample)