Two CARICOM countries blacklisted by France in foreign aid fraud row

PARIS, France, Wednesday May 29, 2013 – Two Caribbean Community (CARICOM) countries, including oil-rich Trinidad and Tobago, are included in a list of countries blacklisted by France that do not help investigate foreign aid fraud.

French officials said the list, which also includes Dominica, was drawn up after Paris decided that it would additionally be banning the use of their banks to help distribute development funds.

Aides to Development Minister Pascal Canfin were unable to say how much French foreign aid currently transits via banks in the countries featured on the new blacklist.

The blacklist expands on an established register of eight “non-cooperative states and territories” that already includes Botswana, Brunei, Nauru, Guatemala and the Philippines.

The list now includes Switzerland, Lebanon, Panama, Costa Rica, the United Arab Emirates, Dominica, Liberia, Trinidad and Tobago, and Vanuatu.(CMC) Click here to receive free news bulletins via email from Caribbean360. (View sample)