Lara Is Lone West Indian Named To ICC World XI

Hardbeatnews, LONDON, England, Weds. Aug. 24, 2005: International Cricket Council Chief Executive, Malcolm Speed, yesterday revealed the 13 cricketers for the ICC World XI challenge against Australia in October’s Johnnie Walker Super Series. And the lone Windies player picked to join the top squad is former West Indies skipper, Brian Lara.

The Trinidad-born Lara will join the international crème de la crème of the cricketing world for the three match One Day International series at Melbourne’s Telstra Dome on October 5, 7 and 9 and the six day Super Test at the Sydney Cricket Ground from October 14-19.

South Africa has six players across both squads, England and India three, Sri Lanka and Pakistan two and West Indies and New Zealand has one each. The 13 players named for the ICC World XI Super Test side and 14 for the One Day International squad are:

The ICC World XI Test squad: Graeme Smith (capt), Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid (vc), Sachin Tendulkar, Lara, Jacques Kallis, Andrew Flintoff, Shaun Pollock, Mark Boucher, Steve Harmison, Shoaib Akhtar, Muttiah Muralitharan and Daniel Vettori.

The ICC World XI ODI squad is made up of: Pollock (capt), Sehwag, Tendulkar (vc), Kallis, Lara, Kevin Pietersen, Herschelle Gibbs, Flintoff, Kumar Sangakkara, Shahid Afridi, Akhtar, Makhaya Ntini, Muralitharan and Vettori.

Sunil Gavaskar, the record-breaking former India captain who chaired the Johnnie Walker selection panel, said that the ICC World XI sides would put Australia under severe pressure to maintain its dominant home record.

“This is the first time for decades that the greatest players from the rest of the world have combined their talents, and I expect them to put Australia under real pressure, he stated.

ICC Chief Executive Speed added that the Johnnie Walker selectors had picked two squads of superb players who would test Australia to the limit.

“There are no weak links in either of these squads. Personally, I can’t wait for the series to begin,” he said. –