New Zealand defeat Windies in deciding third test


Brathwaite bowled Boult during the fifth and final day of the third and final Test match between West Indies and New Zealand at Kensington Oval, on Monday, June 302014 (Credit: WICB Media)

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, Monday June 30, 2014, CMC – New Zealand defeated West Indies by 53 runs on the final day of the decisive third Test at Kensington oval here Monday.

Chasing a challenging 308 for victory at the start of the final day, the hosts lost wickets steadily and were dismissed late in the day for 254 at Kensington Oval.

Debutant Jason Holder stroked a top score of 52 while left-hander Darren Bravo got 40 and tail-ender Shane Shillingford, 30 not out. Captain Denesh Ramdin chipped in with 29 while veteran left-hander Shiv Chanderpaul scored 25.

However, West Indies were undermined by seamers Tim Southee (3-28) and Trent Boult (3-48), while off-spinner Mark Craig finished with three for 84.

New Zealand won the first Test at Sabina Park in Kingston by 186 runs inside four days before West Indies levelled the series with a 10-wicket victory in Port of Spain.

NEW ZEALAND 1st Innings 293

WEST INDIES 1st Innings 317

NEW ZEALAND 2nd Innings 331-7 decl.

WEST INDIES 2nd Innings (target: 308 runs)

C Gayle b Southee 11
K Brathwaite b Boult 6
K Edwards c Taylor b Boult 10
S Chanderpaul st Watling b Craig 25
D Bravo c Williamson b Southee 40
*+D Ramdin c Taylor b Southee 29
J Holder b Craig 52
K Roach c Latham b Craig 7
S Shillingford not out 30
S Benn c Southee b Wagner 10
J Taylor lbw b Boult 12

Extras (b4, lb15, w1, nb2) 22

TOTAL (10 wkts, 82.2 overs) 254

Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Brathwaite), 2-23 (Edwards), 3-31 (Gayle), 4-81 (Chanderpaul), 5-122 (Ramdin), 6-129 (Bravo), 7-144 (Roach,), 8-221 (Holder, 73.3), 9-232 (Benn), 10-254 (Taylor)

Bowling: Boult 16.2-1-48-3, Southee 16-4-28-3 (w1), Craig 28-7-84-3 (nb1), Wagner 16-3-50-1 (nb1), Neesham 3-1-9-0, Williamson 3-0-16-0.

Result: New Zealand won by 53 runs.

Series: New Zealand win three-match series 2-1.

Man-of-the-Match: Kane Williamson.

Man-of-the-Series: Kane Williamson.

Toss: New Zealand.

Umpires: Ian Gould, Richard Illingworth; TV – Rod Tucker.

Click here to receive free news bulletins via email from Caribbean360. (View sample)