Windies Cricket Selectors To Choose Alternate Squad For Sri Lanka Tour

Hardbeatnews, ST. JOHN’S, Antigua, Tues. June 28, 2005: West Indies cricket selectors are set to meet today to choose an alternative squad for the upcoming tour to Sri Lanka.

This after only three of the original 13 cricketers accepted the selectors initial invite to be a part of the team for the triangular series. The contract was to be signed and returned by June 21.

This as the Board and members of the West Indies Players Association again clash on Clause 5 of the players contract and as fans watch on as another fall-out seems eminent.

Chief Executive Officer of the WICB, Roger Brathwaite, said yesterday the move by the Board is to ensure that its commitments under the International Cricket Council’s Future Tours Program would be met.

“We have a responsibility to Sri Lanka, India and the ICC to honor the agreement for this Test Series and One-Day International triangular contest and we will do all in our power to meet that commitment,” he said. “We have been in touch with some of the players currently on tour with the ‘A’ team in Sri Lanka, regarding their availability and have had a very positive response from them.”

The West Indies is scheduled to play two Test Matches against the hosts and along with India participate in a triangular one-day tournament following the Test series. The Test series begins on July 13 and the One-Day tournament on July 30.

Meanwhile, the WICB also stated it has submitted an amendment to Clause 5 of the Match/Tour Contract, which serves to make clear its position with respect to individual-player endorsements.

The new clause 5 (b) reads: “The WICB acknowledges that individual Players have the sole and exclusive right to enter into their own individual commercial contracts granting similar image rights as in Clause 5(a) other than as a West Indian Player and subject to Clause 5.1 and Clause 5.2.”

Those clauses, 5.1 and 5.2, speak to intellectual property usage rights and player promotional obligations to the WICB and its team sponsors respectively. –